Caption Contest III

This contest is open to anyone and everyone who visits this blog (even if this is your first time). Winner receives a free copy of The Little Bookstore of Big Stone Gap: a memoir of friendship, community, and the uncommon pleasure of a good book. Books will be mailed to winners.

This is one of the foster kittens currently resident in our bookstore. Have at! Put your (family-friendly) caption in the comments; contest closes July 20. St. Martin’s Press is sponsoring seven contests in all between now and Oct. 2.

37 Comments

Filed under Big Stone Gap, book reviews, folklore and ethnography, humor, small town USA, Uncategorized

37 responses to “Caption Contest III

  1. “Isn’t anyone going to read to me tonight?”

  2. I wish I could read. *sigh*

  3. “Oh no! I hope they don’t look behind the romances”.

  4. These entries are so terrifically cute. They are all winners!

  5. Beth

    Can I cuddle while you read? Please?

  6. What do you mean you don’t have the book I wanted. sniff sniff. What a sad face on this baby.

  7. John

    “My name is little Bo Bo. Can I lay on your belly while you read me a happy story?”

  8. Teri

    Nothing like a good book to keep you up all night.

  9. I’ll Help You Find the Purrfect Book!

  10. Gaye

    Um, that’s not a bookmark that I left back there!

  11. Cathie Collins

    Oh Walter (Mosley), I’m too little to contemplate the plight of African Americans in LA AND try to solve your mysteries!

  12. but I wanted to read the book about the birds.

  13. Aaahhhh — perfect place for a cat nap (after a quick read)!!

  14. I eat BIG words one sylla-bite at a time.

  15. Deb King

    “Now, where did I leave my bi-focals?”

  16. Irene McIntosh

    Was that two jumps up or two jumps down to get to that great sleeping spot?

  17. “Of Mice and Men” is checked out already? Fine, I’ll have to make do with a copy of “Cat on a Hot Tin Roof.”

  18. Susan Cox

    Oops!!! They’ll never believe it was me!

  19. Paula

    Of all the books shops in the world … She had to come in to mine .

  20. Pam

    Oh, I was looking for “The Cat in the Hat”, not this Micely guy…oops, I mean Mosley…

  21. Tammy

    OK Guys spread out, mom is here somewhere.

  22. awesome blog. I enjoy reading your articles. This is truly a great read for me. I have bookmarked it and I am looking forward to reading new articles. Cheers.

  23. This blog is great. Keep it up, hugs.

  24. I shouldn’t have stayed up all night reading Cujo…

  25. Laura Taylor

    Noop, I will not read about Furless Jones. That’s where I draw the line!

  26. I am sooooo outa my league here. I want my mommy.

  27. Eva

    I love your blog…we are in Mendota…must get over there!

  28. Steve Grochowsky

    “Isn’t anyone going to read to me tonight?” — Perfect! (=

  29. Jennifer Morrow

    What do you mean I’m too young to read that?

  30. Deena Albietz

    Whaddya mean, Poe’s cat was black?

  31. This grown-up part scares me I want to go back where the little kittie books are.

  32. Mayin

    Hi! This is my entry for the contest: “Now is the purrfect time for reading!” 😉

  33. Frances

    Pick me! Pick me!

Leave a Reply

