Pluck It….

Okay, so I’m just a quiet little person with a happy small life who runs a sweet wee bookstore in the middle of nowhere. I like it that way. New York doesn’t know me, and DC sure doesn’t ask my opinion about anything–or, for that matter, care to hear it offered unsolicited.

I just run a bookstore. That’s enough politics–large and small “p”–for me. So let me say this one thing, and then I’ll go back to being that cheerful pudgy woman who sells books and keeps her mouth shut about the crap flying around in the real world.

“IT’S A SODDING SANDWICH AND THEY’RE BLOODY PUPPETS! NOW WOULD YOU PLEASE GET OVER YOUR TOO-EARNEST-BY-HALF SELVES!”

I understand economic sanctions. I still assign my college students the film “Food, Inc.” and ask on the final exam why bovine hormone milk got pulled off Walmart’s shelves  (Answer: D because shoppers voted with their wallets by not buying it).

But I have cousins who think I’m halfway down the slippery laundry chute to Hell because I still shop at Lowe’s (when my local hardware doesn’t have what I need) and EVERYBODY knows that Lowe’s supports “the homosexual agenda.”

I’m sorry, but I have many gay and lesbian friends, most of whom couldn’t organize their way out of a paper bag.

Yet now those friends are threatening to cut me off if I continue displaying in my shop the cow calendar from Chick-Fil-A. (They put out a very funny one with parodies of literary classics, like “Old Mooler,” and “Jack the Flipper.”)

Get over it, lads and ladies; I think those cows are cute – sometimes cuter than you. The calendar stays. I’m not taking advice on what not to eat from a pig wearing way too much mascara and bling for daytime television, nor accepting religious guilt from a cow.

Put bluntly, Chick-Fil-A and the Muppets are each corporations having a field day with the marketing boom from this gleeful exchange of crossfire. Keep playing these stupid games, you two, and I will learn to live without either of you. It’s not like you have feelings. It’s not like you’re people.

It’s more like you’re laughing all the way to the bank at how easy it is to wind up those little toys called consumers…..

Now please leave me alone to finish this chicken strips basket, so I can go back to working my bookstore. Thank you.

13 Comments

Filed under folklore and ethnography, humor, small town USA, Uncategorized, VA

13 responses to “Pluck It….

  1. The Weenie Queen

    I’m astonished that this has all come to a head only recently. Chic-Fil-A’s stance on homosexuality and gay marriage was outed long ago, or so I thought. I stopped buying from them years ago.

    I shall not judge you for keeping the existing cow calendar. I’ll just exercise my right to check the dates on other sources instead 🙂

    But admit it – the Muppets are way cooler and more interesting than poorly seasoned greasy chicken products, no matter what their CEOs do (or don’t do) in the bedroom.

  2. The Weenie Queen

    I shall provide you with a wiener calendar for 2013.

    • Thank you! (We are on FB as Tales of the Lonesome Pine LLC, in case the address is not here.)

      BTW the calendar from That Place is from perhaps 2010. I pulled it apart and put the pix over appropriate lit sections. I look forward to seeing what can be done with the dear little weenies…. (stop now). Thanks again!

  3. Eva

    Hi there…I heard your interview at WETS a few weeks ago. It was a great interview…I believe it was very early on a Saturday morning there you were!! I’ve been lurking about your blog for a long time, and it was fun to hear your voice. Can’t wait to read the book, and one of these days, I’ll make the LONG trip from Mendota, Virginia to Big Stone to come to the store.

  4. Laura Taylor

    Awesome! I love this one, Wendy!! I couldn’t agree more! However, I have decided to stop eating muppets from here on out.

  5. Love chicken! Thats all I am saying. I usually get into to much trouble already. 🙂

Leave a Reply

