The Collective Noun for Booksellers

angelicThis time last week I was hanging with friends who own a bookstore in Eureka (MariaJoseph Books). I mentioned to Angelic that after the signing and dance workshop (yeah, you heard me) I wanted to swing by another bookstore on the way home, one BSR used books in Granite City, Illinois, because their owner Bruce Campbell had taken a shine to one of our foster cats, Hazel, and friended us on FB.

Angelic laughed. “I know Bruce. He and Joe (Angelic’s husband) met at Pudd’nHead when they closed. They were both scavenging shelves.”

Pudd’nHead was a lovely bookstore in Webster Groves. It closed last year–a real loss for WG’s charming downtown area. So Angelic and Joe decided to drive out with us.

What is the collective noun for booksellers, anyway? A gathering of booksellers? A set of booksellers? A Dickens of booksellers?

We had let Bruce know we were coming; his wife Stacie took one look at us walking in the door, and said, “You’re Wendy, right?”

(I keep forgetting my picture is on the jacket flap of Little Bookstore. When people I’ve not met recognize me, I’m startled and think they’re psychic.)bevy of booksellers

Bruce had gotten trapped doing an errand, but Stacie and Angelic and I moved up and down the aisles of their store, discussing pricing issues, stock turnover, and cat occupancy levels. Jack said the energy crackling around us could have powered Los Angeles for three days.

An empowerment of booksellers? A haven of booksellers?  A binding of booksellers?

willyBSR also has a literary bunny – the first I’ve seen besides my agent Pamela’s Louise. While Louise is something of a Manhattan sophisticate, BSR’s Willy was… more outgoing. He raced up and down and then tried to pounce me in a male sort of way.

As Angelic, Stacie and I agreed, when ya got it, ya flaunt it.

A Trollope of booksellers? A Steel of booksellers?

ivy shelvesJack took some photos as Angelic, Stacie and I talked a blue streak, ambling the stock. BSR’s story was like ours: out of work in a bad economy, they had $250 in savings. They piled their book collection together, bought an entire inventory of metal shelves and bookends from a closing store for $200, set their prices as $2.50 paperback, $5 hardback, and threw open their doors with one month’s rent between them and failure (the last of a final paycheck from a former job).

That was 2010. I admired their bookends, and Stacie gave me a dozen.

A generosity of booksellers? A cooperation of booksellers?

We compared notes on how we’d solved those pesky early-years economic problems–like eating or paying light bills–and talked about favorite customers. It was one of Stacie’s who’d come in waving Little Bookstore, saying “You must have read it, ’cause this is how you got started, right?! Did you write this under another name?”

A stealth of booksellers?

While we were there, another bookstore owner called, LuAnn from Afterwords Books in Edwardsville, Illinois. She’d read on FB that we were nearby and wanted us to come on up.  Afterwords had a very difficult time moving lock, stock, and shelving in 2012, and we’d befriended LuAnn in the midst of it. We couldn’t this trip, but we’ve made plans to when Jack heads to Colorado in October for his annual Prison Visiting Service Conference.ivy reading

So, the bookstore is dead, you say? Amazon rules–and we all must play by theirs? Dog eat dog (or cat eat cat) and devil take the hindmost?

Ha. God bless the local entrepreneur who fights fire with water. We fly below the radar, offering Amazon price matching plans, doing good in our communities, anchoring our downtown districts, holding open our doors against the Goliath box stores by using REAL customer service and gentle, name-remembering welcomes instead of professional greeters.

A blessing of booksellers?

And God doubly bless the people like Stacie and Bruce, Angelic and Joe, Lou Ann, Larry Bowen out in Rolla, Missouri, and yes, Jack and me, who all know that small shops can do big things in and for their community.

15 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

15 responses to “The Collective Noun for Booksellers

  1. A blessing of booksellers — that’s it! For they truly are.

  2. Elizabeth Cooperstein

    Agreed!

    • afterwordsbooks

      Here! Here! I’m absolutely giddy over your upcoming visit. Thank you, Wendy, for helping all of us keep the faith!

  3. Richard Jones

    I hear there’s an excellent venue open on main street – with a kitchen and a loyal customer base. Mutual Bookstore?

  4. My vote wholeheartedly goes to a blessing of booksellers!

  5. anne64

    I have to say– I think “An Engagement of Booksellers” is more descriptive.
    One of my favorite independent bookstores (old & rare) is The Title Page in Rosemont, Pa. Beverly Potter runs it. I went in for Marguerite de Navarre’s Heptaméron and Beverly said “Look down that aisle, on the left, almost to the end” It wasn’t there, but a couple of others that intrigued me were, and I got to hear BP rail about [insert least favorite politician here]. I have yet to meet a bookseller who doesn;t exist in the here and now…

  6. a Treasure of booksellers!

  7. I thought I left a comment earlier. Don’t know what happened to it but basically it said that I love your writing Wendy and please don’t ever quit. You rock.

  8. It’s impossible not to love it
    and those that don’t love it
    just don’t get it………
    yet

  9. Those who don’t go out of business become a Remainder of Booksellers.

  10. I like Binding of Booksellers which is euphonious as well as being about how booksellers are bound together and are bound and determined to make it work.

    But I also like A Signature of Booksellers. 16 pages is a signature in book-making talk. But it also means an autograph. And it also means something that marks you, as your signature dish as a cook.

    Jane

  11. Gail

    In honor of the pharmacy: a mutual of booksellers!

  12. This was awesome. Thank you Wendy. Blessing of Booksellers indeed.

Leave a Reply

