Got Postcards?

Every once in awhile I ask blog readers for something. I try not to do it often, but it seems like a good reason this time; it’s for Jack.

So…. got postcards?

Jack and my friend Elizabeth (she’s in Little Bookstore) do prison visits, along with a few other Friends from the Quaker meeting at our bookstore. Each month they sit chatting with two or three federal prisoners who don’t have visitors for some reason. The prisoners have requested someone through the Prison Visiting Service, an ecumenical group.

Jack and E go out at 8 a.m. and return home about 1 p.m., drained. It’s hard to make these visits; I don’t go; I know my limits. Two weeks in and I’d be contacting lawyers and media, mounting campaigns to improve food, ensure funeral visits, all that stuff. I’m an empathic listener, internalizing everything.

Jack is not; he’s a smart, sympathetic listener with common sense. One man Jack visits was brought to America illegally as a seven-year-old, lived his life without papers and then, at the age of 32, was the passenger in a car stopped for running a red light. He’s doing six years. The other guy Jack visits has killed two people and stolen things. He’s doing life.

About ten days before their next visit, Elizabeth and Jack send prison-required postcards to their guys, telling them they’ll be there. The prisoners decorate their cells with these cards and trade duplicates with fellow inmates.

So…. if you have some cool postcards from your area, and it wouldn’t cost you much to slip half a dozen into an envelope, Jack and E and the other Quakers doing prison visits would get new views to send, and the guys would get cool cards to post on their wall. We’re running out of Wise County postcards.

We don’t know what it would cost those of you in Korea, Britain, and some other countries to mail six unused cards, so if it’s expensive, forget it and thanks anyway. American views from anyplace would be very appreciated, and if international posting can be done, yippee! Send them to 404 Clinton Ave E, Big Stone Gap, VA 24219. And thank you, on behalf of visitors and visitees alike.

16 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

16 responses to “Got Postcards?

  1. Just put some in my case!

  2. Running errands tomorrow, and I’ll buy some and send to you. What a wonderful ministry 🙂

  3. Donna Chapman

    My husbands 97 year old Mom died 3 months ago and we found a bunch of vintage post cards in her stuff. She was a teacher and went on a lot of senior trips back in the day. This will be a great way to use them….mailing them tomorrow.

  4. Terry Walker

    Great idea! Will send on what we have collected in our travels or bring them up for next First Day. Kathy and Terry Walker

    Sent from my Kindle Fire

    _____________________________________________

  5. Linda Arnett

    Putting a bunch in the mail today! Hope you get enough to last a while.

  6. Regina Miller Tatem

    I would love to send some postcards. As soon as payday rolls around I will get some. I grew up in Big Stone Gap. I miss it so much. I’m in southeastern Va.now. We probably have some interesting postcards from here.I applaud you for doing this.

  7. Sent a bunch of cards from Charlottesville, several other places in the US and England today in a photo mailing envelope. If you need more, I’ll bring some back with me on my next trip to Cville in mid-November.

  8. Jack Beck

    Many thanks, Sandy and everyone else – the guys will appreciate it too!

Leave a Reply

