Those Lovely Moments

rosesFrom time to time authors get incredibly humbling messages about what their books have meant to people. Balancing out the egotism that follows these moments are the one-star reviews and snarky private messages. So please don’t get the idea that it’s all teacups and roses once you publish. 😉

But it is lovely to know that at some point in other people’s lives you’ve said something that counts. And this post from a Facebook friend this morning made me cry:

You saved my life last night! I got some bad news from a family member and I was really upset and could feel my heart pounding in my teeth so I figured there was not calmness going on in my body. It was bedtime and I knew I wouldn’t be able to fall asleep. My favorite things to do before bed is to read but I was just agitating too much! I thought, I need a good book that is all about hope, courage, persistence and yes scary times but coming out on the other side after walking with faith and hope to a new life. So I thought of rereading your book, “The Little Bookstore of Big Stone Gap.” It was a great decision because I became calm and hopeful that all would work out. Powerful stuff at midnight on an ordinary Thursday night! So thank you and I am looking to continuing the story today. Peace.

3 Comments

Filed under Big Stone Gap, book reviews, bookstore management, folklore and ethnography, Life reflections, publishing, reading, small town USA, Uncategorized, writing

3 responses to “Those Lovely Moments

  1. Janice Brooks-Headrick

    I hope you keep this message tucked in as a bookmark, for when you have a rotten day. I certainly would. Jan Janice Brooks-Headrick 865-429-1783 Storyteller Author Instigator facebook.com/janice.brooksheadrickCorresponding SecretarySmoky Mountain Storytellers Association

  2. Audrey

    What a great affirmation for you and Jack, Wendy! You can add to your advertisements: We are a Healing Bookstore!

Leave a Reply

