The Monday Book: WHERE’D YOU GO BERNADETTE? by Maria Semple

Jack guest blogs the Monday book this week

I loved this novel and read it right through in one day. Now that is unusual for me, because I tend towards non-fiction and the few novels I do read are usually whodunnits. An exception to that would be Alexander McCall Smith, author of the No. 1 Ladies Detective and the Scotland Street series. That may be a clue to why I enjoyed this so much. Semple has the same great way of capturing a sense of place. For McCall Smith it’s Botswana and middle-class Edinburgh and for Semple it’s Seattle and Antarctica!

The first half of the book seems like a disconnected series of e-mails, school reports and anonymous commentary and I was just beginning to question where it was all leading when – whoosh – it all converged and began making a different kind of sense.

I loved the way Semple nails her characters while also teasing the reader with a whole host of really bizarre settings – Microsoft, the crazy house in Seattle, Antarctica and high powered architecture.

I certainly don’t want to spoil the story for anyone, but I was completely hooked and couldn’t put this book down. Wendy suggested that it was a ‘young adult’ book, and I suppose it might be but that shouldn’t put anyone off reading it.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “The Monday Book: WHERE’D YOU GO BERNADETTE? by Maria Semple

  1. Just requested this book from my local library!

  2. This is one of my favorite books ever. I recommend it at our store all the time. I loved the unusual format. I think everyone can relate to having some type of prep school community in their town. I found the Microsoft work culture funny…I really love this book.
    We get good feedback from people who read it. One person listened to an audio version on a road trip and she told us she sat in the driveway at her destination after hours in the car to keep listening!
    I’m glad you liked it Wendy.

  3. Ooops, sorry. I mean I’m glad Jack liked it.

Leave a Reply

